Winners of ASEAN-ROK Award for Excellence in STI 2021

Seoul/Jakarta – December 2021

The Government of Republic of Korea (ROK), in support of Science and Technology Policy Institute (STEPI), and the ASEAN Committee of Science, Technology and Innovation (COSTI) has continued the annual award of ASEAN-ROK Award for Excellence in Science, Technology and Innovation for the year 2021 to encourage young scientists and engineers to contribute further on research in the area of Science, Technology and Innovation. The Award was open to professionals pursuing careers in any field of natural sciences or engineering.

The annual award consists of two categories which include the Next ASEAN Innovator, which reaches out to scientists and engineers of ASEAN nationality who aim to establish joint research partnerships with the scientific community in the Republic of Korea, and the ASEAN-ROK STI Pioneer, which targets scientists and engineers of ASEAN nationality who already have prior joint research experience within the Republic of Korea and have interest to continue and to expand such collaboration. Each awardee will receive prize money of USD 12,000 each, sponsored by The Ministry of Science, Technology and ICT (MSIT) of the Republic of Korea.

We are proud to announce that this year\’s winners are Asst. Prof. Yanwei Lum (Singapore) for the NEXT ASEAN Innovator category and Dr. Muhammad Adly Rahandi Lubis (Indonesia) for the ASEAN-ROK STI Pioneer category.

Winners of ASEAN-ROK Awards for Excellence in STI 2021

Congratulations for both winners in their efforts to achieve further research advancement and collaboration in the STI area! STEPI and the ASEAN Secretariat will shortly arrange the official awarding ceremony for both winners in the early 2022.

We would like to also extend our heartfelt gratitude to all of the participants of this year\’s awards. We hope to see you again in the next awards.